Favorite Granola Recipe – Olive Oil Granola

IMG_2009

This is awesome granola. I cannot keep it in the house because it’s too yummy, but it is the  perfect host/hostess/new home/new baby/etc,etc,etc gift.  I dropped off a jar at my parents house and it was gone in one day. My mom emailed me:

OMG- the granola! Where is the recipe from?  

This marked the first time my mom has EVER asked me for a recipe. She usually – and rightfully – thinks my recipes are too healthy/weird/new agey/etc. Until the granola…

The recipe was originally posted here. I’ve pasted it below with just a few notes.

IMG_2012

Olive Oil Granola with Cherries and Pecans

Ingredients:
3 cups rolled old-fashioned oats
1 cup raw pecan halves
3/4 cup sliced, raw almonds
1/2 cup raw pumpkin seeds
1/2 cup sweetened coconut
1/4 cup sesame seeds
1/2 cup dried cherries (NOT dried cranberries. Most of the time I just leave out the dried fruit to simplify, but tart dried cherries are a great add if you can find.)
3/4 cup maple syrup (I use a little less to make it less sweet, about 1/2 a cup)
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 cup olive oil (good olive oil, not too sharp)
1 tsp. kosher salt
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. cardamom (this is the secret ingredient that leaves everyone asking for the recipe, so don’t skip!)

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 300 F.
2. With the exception of the cherries, mix all the ingredients together in a big bowl and spoon out onto a large, rimmed baking sheet.
3. Bake:
Bake Times:
–Convection Oven: 35-40 minutes, stir every fifteen minutes.
–Standard Oven: 45 minutes, stir every ten minutes so granola doesn’t stick to the sides of the pan and burn.
4. Granola will be done when it’s golden brown and well toasted. Remove from the oven and stir in the dried cherries. Let cool completely.

Makes: 8-9 cups

Leave a comment