Gwenyth’s Turkey Meatballs

These meatballs were half the reason I purchased Gwenyth’s cookbook (other half = her smoothie recipes; bonus half = maybe if I cook like her, I will turn into her….)  Dan loves meatballs and would probably eat them every night of the week. When I lived around the corner from BiRite grocery he became obsessed with their turkey meatballs from the deli counter. About one hundred $8 meatballs later, I figured it was time to try making these at home.

I blended all of the herbs in my fancy new cuisinart. Wedding gift in action.

turkey meatballs 1

After pan-frying the meatballs, I cooked half the batch in a homemade tomato sauce and the other half in the oven – the tomato sauce meatballs were much better, but the oven ones were delicious later in the week/perfect for Dan’s lunch; though a little dry right out of the oven.

turkeymeatballs2

I did not make Gwenyth’s tomato sauce, so can’t vouch for that. My new go-to tomato sauce recipe is this olive oil version of Marcela Hazan’s recipe. I made it with fresh tomatoes, blanched, skin removed, and pureed in Vitamix. Try it. Sooo good and sooo easy. I’m sure original recipe is great too, but wanted to try without the crazy amount of butter.

Served with arugula salad and brown rice (Gwenyth totally would have skipped the rice, don’t tell her). Such a good Sunday night dinner.

turkey3

 

Go make these now!! I don’t know what the deal is with directly posting recipes, and would hate to infringe on GP’s copyright protection – but someone else posted it here.

2 thoughts on “Gwenyth’s Turkey Meatballs

  1. I love that you served these with rice instead of pasta. What a nice way to mix things up, and include a healthier starch. So happy you like the sauce recipe, too!

    • Thanks, Jennie! My husband and I made your orecchiette with the sauce last week – our first experiment with homemade pasta. We have a lot of work to do =) But it was fun and the sauce perfectly covered up our ‘interesting’ looking pasta.

Leave a Reply

